Cockburn Cougar History

Founded in 1972, Cockburn Basketball Association is the home of basketball in the City of Cockburn. We have run high quality junior and senior competitions for over 40 years. Our representative club, the Cockburn Cougars, are one of the original foundation clubs of the SBL (Western Australian State Basketball League) and the junior state league WABL (Western Australian Basketball League).

  1. Official opening of Wally Hagan Stadium

    The stadium was fairly basic consisting of 4 indoor courts, bitumen with green rubber surface for the courts and red for the surrounds, wooden backboards and hook over boards for the juniors and some spectator seating. At that time we had the only indoor stadium outside of Perry Lakes and the association grew to some 160 senior teams playing four week nights mostly finishing at around 11:00pm and junior competitions were run on Friday nights and Saturdays.   Junior teams from as far away as Mandurah were competing in our Friday night competition.   As more associations followed our lead and opened stadiums in their own area, Willetton, Rockingham and Wanneroo, we started losing some teams with teams having the opportunity of playing closer to home.

  2. Men’s State Basketball League Championship

  3. Men’s State Basketball League Championship

  4. Men’s State Basketball League Championship

Basketball Leadership

Tyrone Thwaites
General Manager
Simon Petersen
Basketball Development & Admin Manager
Nicholas Johnston
Facilities & Administration Assistant
Kathleen Madden
Competitions Coordinator
Michelle Bradford
previous arrow
next arrow

Board of Directors

With Thanks to our Cougar Family Partners